Deer carcass Special for DogFoodChat visitors: FREE Shipping on Dog Food (USA Only)! at Petflow.com. Orders $49+
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree3Likes

Thread: Deer carcass

Thanks

Default Deer carcass

So I totally scored off of craigslist and got a doe carcass freshly killed from this weekend. The guy took the meat he wanted and gave us what was left. When I was cutting it up I noticed a ginormous hole in the chest area and it was all torn up and looked diff than the rest of the meat. Was this where it was shot? I didn't think it was gun season yet, so I don't know. Is ok for my dogs to eat that? Or should I cut that out. I washed it pretty well and it's all in the deep freezer right now. I forget, how long should I freeze it? Also, are there parts I shouldn't feed? Like I cut up the spine for RMBs but I noticed the spinal cord still inside. Is that okay? Sorry for all the questions but I'm completely new to deer carcass, lol. Any help would be great.

Thanks
    Thanked 1,779 Times in 1,376 Posts

Quote Originally Posted by Steph View Post
    So I totally scored off of craigslist and got a doe carcass freshly killed from this weekend. The guy took the meat he wanted and gave us what was left. When I was cutting it up I noticed a ginormous hole in the chest area and it was all torn up and looked diff than the rest of the meat. Was this where it was shot? I didn't think it was gun season yet, so I don't know. Is ok for my dogs to eat that? Or should I cut that out. I washed it pretty well and it's all in the deep freezer right now. I forget, how long should I freeze it? Also, are there parts I shouldn't feed? Like I cut up the spine for RMBs but I noticed the spinal cord still inside. Is that okay? Sorry for all the questions but I'm completely new to deer carcass, lol. Any help would be great.
    i don't know anything about this, but when i'm not sure of the source, i freeze things.....